Sunriver Resort, about 10 minutes and 5 miles from the house, has a marina, stables, 4 golf courses, the Cove aquatic center, a spa and the Great Hall. Not all of it is open to a group staying off-resort: the Cove is for resort guests only, and the sources opened here reserve tee times for club members and resort guests. Each service is stated as the sources describe it.
Updated October 2026 · First published October 2026
Sunriver Resort at a glance for a group staying off-resort
Sunriver Resort opened its Lodge in September 1969 on land that was Camp Abbot, a U.S. Army training camp from May 1943 to July 1944, per Wikipedia. Today it runs Meadows, Woodlands, Crosswater and the nine-hole Caldera Links, the Cove aquatic center, Sunriver Stables, a marina on the Deschutes, the Sage Springs Club and Spa, and the Lodge restaurants. The house is about ten minutes from the resort, in the Three Rivers area. The table below is the short answer; the sections after it give the source for each line.
| Service | What the source says about access | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The Cove aquatic center | Open year-round, exclusively to Sunriver Resort guests | Visit Central Oregon |
| Crosswater, Meadows and Woodlands golf | Tee times reserved for club members and resort guests | Visit Central Oregon |
| Caldera Links (9 holes) | Private: resort members, Crosswater members and Caldera Springs homeowners | Visit Central Oregon |
| Sunriver Resort Marina | A commercial marina; using it requires a boat rental, with the shuttle back included | Sunriver Chamber |
| Sunriver Stables | Open mid-April to early November; beginner rides, pony rides and corral rides. No access rule stated | Visit Central Oregon |
| Lodge dining | Named restaurants; no access rule stated | Visit Central Oregon; Bend Bulletin |
| Sage Springs Club and Spa | Wellness services described as for resort guests and members; a three-lane saltwater lap pool and a hot tub | Visit Central Oregon; Wikipedia |
| The Great Hall | Used for meetings and weddings | Wikipedia |
Where a source gives no access rule, this page gives none. Call the resort before promising a group of 30 a service, and read things to do in Sunriver for the public parks, paths and the SHARC, which is a separate facility.
The Sunriver Resort Marina: rentals on the Deschutes and the shuttle back
Sunriver Resort runs a commercial marina on the Deschutes at river mile 188.2, and using it requires renting a boat there, per the Sunriver Chamber's water-recreation page. A shuttle ride back from the resort's Canoe Takeout is included with the rental. The chamber lists the marina at 541-593-3492. The resort's own marina pages could not be opened for this guide, so the craft on offer, the season and the prices are not stated here. Visit Central Oregon lists discounted bike and boat rentals in summer, and Cove and Sage Springs access, among the perks of the resort's own rental homes; the estate is independently owned and is not one of them.
The house has its own water. The private dock sits on 450 feet of Deschutes frontage, small boats can be hand-launched from it, and the Big River boat ramp, a public put-in, is 2.5 miles up the road. Please bring your own water toys and PFDs; none are provided. The river routes above and below the resort are in the Deschutes River near Sunriver.
Sunriver Stables: rides from mid-April to early November
Sunriver Stables is open mid-April to early November and offers 30- to 60-minute beginner rides with 15 minutes of instruction, pony rides for young children and hand-led corral rides, per Visit Central Oregon. The page states no rule about who may book, so a group staying at the house should call the stables. A group of 30 will not ride at once; book the rides in waves and send the rest to the 6-hole disc golf course, the bocce court and the dock at the house.
Golf at Sunriver Resort: Meadows, Woodlands, Crosswater and Caldera Links
Tee times on Crosswater, Meadows and Woodlands are reserved for club members and resort guests, according to Visit Central Oregon's guide to Sunriver golf, and Caldera Links is private to resort members, Crosswater members and Caldera Springs homeowners. The resort's golf overview describes Meadows and Woodlands as unlimited play inside its Stay & Play package, with Crosswater and Caldera Links as add-ons, and the Crosswater page says its pro shop is accessible only to members and resort guests with tee times. Crosswater was showing closed for the season when opened for this guide in October 2026.
Read that as: a group staying off-resort should not count on a resort tee time without asking the resort directly. Meadows opened in 1968 and was redesigned by John Fought in 1999; Woodlands is by Robert Trent Jones Jr.; Crosswater is by Bob Cupp Jr.; Caldera Links is nine holes of 60 to 185 yards. The public courses in Bend, and the full course comparison, are in golfing near Sunriver and Bend.
The Cove at Sunriver Resort: resort guests only
The Cove aquatic center is open year-round and exclusively to Sunriver Resort guests, per Visit Central Oregon, with indoor and outdoor pools, a jetted spa, an indoor-outdoor waterslide, a lazy river and private cabanas. A group at the house does not get in. The site has no SHARC passes either: check availability for public use directly with the SHARC facility, which is about ten minutes from the house like the resort.
What the house has instead is the river and the covered hot tub. The dock, the hammock by the water and the Adirondack chairs do the afternoon; the hot tub does the evening. The hot tub's capacity is not stated by the site, so a group of 30 takes turns.
Dining at Sunriver Resort: the Lodge restaurants
The resort's restaurants, as Visit Central Oregon names them, are Lodge Kitchen, Owl's Nest and Zeppa Bistro at the Lodge, The Turn Café at Crosswater, McDivot's Cafe at Woodlands and the Spotted Frog poolside restaurant at the Cove. The Bend Bulletin's 2015 review covered the renovated Lodge dining as Carson's American Kitchen, the Twisted River Tavern and the Spotted Frog, so names have changed over the years; the resort's own dining pages could not be opened for this guide, and neither source states whether non-guests may dine. Call before booking a table for a group.
The restaurants in the Village at Sunriver and the south Bend corridor, with the ones that handle a big table, are in where to eat near Sunriver. The alternative is a private chef at the house: the estate shares a vendor list through Epicurate for chefs and more, and the meal is served at the 12-foot dining table or the four 8-foot picnic tables outside.
Sage Springs spa and the Great Hall at Sunriver Resort
The resort is home to the Sage Springs Club and Spa, per Wikipedia, with a three-lane saltwater lap pool open all year and an on-site hot tub, per Visit Central Oregon, which describes its wellness services as for resort guests and members. The sources do not say whether a non-guest can book a treatment, so call before promising it to a group. The Great Hall is the former Camp Abbot officers' club, built of native logs and stone and the one building left standing when the camp was razed after D-Day; it is used for meetings and weddings. For a wedding on the river itself, the estate hosts up to 45 guests on its own three acres; see micro-weddings at the estate.
Bikes and paths between the house and Sunriver Resort
Visit Central Oregon mentions paved bike paths in Sunriver, lists discounted summer bike rentals as a perk of the resort's own rental homes, and lists free cruiser bike rentals among Caldera Springs amenities. Bike rentals are also in the Village at Sunriver, which the Village at Sunriver covers. The site does not state a bike route or distance from the house to the resort, so plan the ride with a map. The estate has parking for up to 15 vehicles, with room for vans and trailers, so bikes can come on a rack.
Where to stay near Sunriver Resort with a group: the estate
Stay at Deschutes Riverfront Retreat, an 11-bedroom, 6-bath estate in the Three Rivers area, about ten minutes from Sunriver Resort, that sleeps up to 30 with a maximum of 24 adults. The six-bedroom Lodge sleeps up to 18 and can be booked on its own; the five-bedroom Cottage comes only with the full estate. The two buildings sit side by side on three acres with 450 feet of private Deschutes River frontage, a private dock, a covered hot tub, a 6-hole disc golf course, bocce and a seasonal fire pit.

Inside are two large living areas with stone fireplaces, a 12-foot dining table, a pool table, ping pong, an arcade and 200MB WiFi. The renter must be 30 or older, every booking has a 2-night minimum with no day rentals, quiet hours run 9 PM to 8 AM, and occupancy limits are enforced because the home is on well and septic. Booking direct on this site saves the service fees that Airbnb and VRBO charge; the live calendar on Book Now shows the current rate for your dates. The bed-by-bed plan is on large group rentals near Sunriver, and the floor plans are on the whole estate page.
Frequently asked questions
Can guests at the house use the Cove at Sunriver Resort?
No. Visit Central Oregon states the Cove is open exclusively to Sunriver Resort guests. SHARC passes are not included with a stay at the estate either; check public availability directly with SHARC.
Can we get a tee time at Sunriver Resort if we are not staying there?
Visit Central Oregon's golf guide says tee times on Crosswater, Meadows and Woodlands are reserved for club members and resort guests, and Caldera Links is private. Ask the resort directly before planning a round. The Bend courses are the public alternative.
Can we rent canoes at the Sunriver Resort Marina?
The Sunriver Chamber says the resort runs a commercial marina at river mile 188.2, that using it requires a boat rental, and that the shuttle back from the Canoe Takeout is included. The craft, season and prices were not on a page opened for this guide; the marina's listed phone is 541-593-3492.
How far is the house from Sunriver Resort?
About ten minutes and five miles. The house is in the Three Rivers area, at the end of a dead-end private road on the Deschutes, with parking for up to 15 vehicles.
Sources
- Visit Central Oregon, Sunriver Resort: A Four-Season Wilderness Wonderland
- Visit Central Oregon, Guide to Golf Courses in Sunriver, Oregon
- Sunriver Resort, Golf Overview
- Sunriver Resort, Crosswater Course
- Sunriver Area Chamber of Commerce, Water Recreation
- Wikipedia, Sunriver Resort
- The Bend Bulletin, Restaurant review: Sunriver Resort's makeover (August 2015)
